Farm-grown writers

pigI was invited to be the “featured” reader at Poetry Farm last Monday night. (I read from The Love We All Wait For.)

I’ve been hearing about this Marin County writers community for several years. I had no idea what I’d been missing.

The “farmers” at Poetry Farm are a wonderful mix of poets and prose writers–most of them of a certain age (comme moi).

I read and answered questions, and then singer/songwriter and guitarist Sam Neff played a beautiful tune, “Everything to Me” (the chorus has stayed with me). Kirsten Neff read half a dozen poems that blew me away. (“California Cousins,” a sensuous celebration of two young cousins on the 4th of July, is gorgeous.)

Donna from Kentucky read a lovely prose piece about a ten-year-old boy watching a fly “on the wrong side of the screen.” Mark, a slam poet  flips through sheets of poems like a mad orchestra conductor, and Marilyn’s “April 12th” made me cry. There were other readings–like the clever, whimsical poem about Quantum Physics. (The reader’s rhinestone eyepatch was a nice touch.)

Poetry Farm is more than the sum of its parts. It’s community at its best: People sharing their work, encouraging each other and talking about the ups and downs of writing and publication. A place to keep growing.  

Poetry Farm meets the second Monday of the month at 7 pm at Dr. Insomnia’s Cafe on Grant Street in Novato. Fortify yourself with the great coffee and tasty homebaked goods on sale–the scones are to-die-for.

I’ll be returning to the Poetry Farm just to listen next time. I hope to see you there. Bring something to read. There’s a signup sheet for scheduled and impromptu readings.

1 Comment »

  1. Marianne Gates said

    I agree. It was the first poetry farm gathering I had attended, and I will be attending them every month from now on. It was an amazing evening – the poems, stories, songs, and last but definitely not least, the people. The people were kind and welcoming. I was so happy leaving there – feeling as if I had grown.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

